Local Area Network (LAN) Coordinators

Regional LAN Coordinator: Boston, New York City, and Upstate New York Ann Shinnar, Touro College
Boston LAN

Aleshia Carlsen-Bryan, MIT
Stephanie Ripley, Tufts

New York City LAN Lolita Wood-Hill, Yeshiva University
Robert Schwartz, Adelphi University
Upstate New York LAN Betsy Brookins, Siena College
Upstate New York LAN Committee Allyson Backstrom, Canisius College
Joseph Ficano, Hartwick College
Joy Emilie Swanson, Cornell University

Regional LAN Coordinator: Chesapeake,
Philadelphia, and Western Pennsylvania

Lisa Schwartz, George Washington University
Chesapeake LAN Wendy Loughlin, University of Maryland
Philadelphia LAN Louise Russo, Villanova
Mary Engel, University of Scranton
Western Pennsylvania LAN Jessica Matzko, The Pennsylvania State University


LAN Meetings

Philadelphia LAN
Friday January 8, 2016, 9:30am-3:15pm
Location: Drexel University College of Medicine
Topics: What medical students worry about; How medical schools meet the needs of medical students; MCAT 2015

Boston LAN
Friday January 8, 2016, 10am-3pm
Location: Tufts University School of Medicine
Topics: commitee letters; AACOM and Liaison

Upstate New York LAN
Friday January 29, 2016
New York Chiropractic College (Seneca Falls NY)

New York City LAN
Friday March 4, 2016
Location: New York University College of Dentistry
Tentative Topics: AACOMAS/Liason: Issues/Answers, MCAT 2015: Effects on the Admissions Process, Dentistry: Reviewing the Field. Nursing Update and the "Redacted Files".
Register online

Chesapeake LAN
Tuesday May 3, 2016
Location: Georgetown University School of Medicine
Topics: Advising reapplicants; Advising Case Studies; Georgetown SOM programs and opportunities for students; Med school updates; optional tours

Western Pennsylvania LAN

Please send updates or contributions to Kate Fukawa-Connelly.

Back to Top


Northeast Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (NEAAHP)

NEAAHP 2017 Regional Meeting: June 8-11, 2017

Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Lead Program Chairs: Elizabeth Brookins, Siena College and Alexandra Tan, Johns Hopkins University

Assistant Co-Chairs: Stephanie Ripley, Tufts University and Kimberly Buck-Speck, Temple University

Back to Top


National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (NAAHP)

NAAHP 2016 National Meeting: June 15-19, 2016

Hilton Minneapolis, Minneapolis MN
Program Chairs: Judith Beniak, U of Minnesota and Francisco Castelan, Northwestern University


Back to Top